The rest is still unwritten

You see ….. Since the beginning of December (despite needing to) I haven’t ‘even’ been near the gym.  No, I’m not a fitness fanatic that is suffering from withdrawl – my two main reasons for going are: I have a dodgy hip problem (yes at 39, it’s from an injury!) and I have an event coming up that requires me to look my best, lol. 

Besides these two very ‘important’ things (cough – yes looking my best is important ….), I have actually started to enjoy the additional benefits – like ‘quality’ time to myself (something I harp on about other people needing for themselves) and even if it almost kills me making sure that I get everything done and in place to get there – I have committed to going!

So I havent’ been ……..  for far too long and reasons such as relatives from overseas coming to stay, children’s school plays, poorly children, Christmas, more poorly children, more Christmas, a bit more Christmas, a bit more poorly children and then just when I get my bag packed the night before to go, I wake up to …… poorly me (the God damned flu, no less!!!!!!!)

Well that’s all over now and I’m feeling a bit better, Christmas is a memory and the children are all well (fingers crossed).

So now it’s time for ‘me time’ again and the gym and writing things down are back on the agenda (LETS SEE WHICH ONE GETS MORE ATTENTION).

So what inspired the title of this post??

It’s funny really, but after downloading thousands of albums from my collection (onto the Linn Akurate DS) I have come across songs I usually can’t find for stacks of CD’s in shelves, but which are now available at the touch of an iPad screen :)

So, while eating toast and listening to Natasha Bedingfield (a blast from my music collection past), I start chuckling at the lyrics to the song – unwritten. Oh you bet!  The rest is ‘still’ unwritten.

So, for the benefit of those who can’t quite remember the words and so you too can laugh at your own lack or recent unwritings in the aftermath of Christmas and the flu – the lyrics are below….  Here’s hoping that you all get your writing mojos back and we have some fabulous blogs (those famously popular and also those who feel inspired to make an effort every once in a while).

And if you want to listen:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dg_7TL5PAzA

If you want to know what inspired Natasha to write it – I believe it was a gift to her younger brother for his 14th Birthday.

Natasha Bedingfield – Unwritten

I am unwritten,
Can’t read my mind
I’m undefined
I’m just beginning
The pen’s in my hand
Ending unplanned

Staring at the blank page before you
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words
That you could not find
Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your innovation

Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten, yeah

I break tradition
Sometimes my tries
Are outside the lines, oh yeah
We’ve been conditioned
To not make mistakes
But I can’t live that way oh, no

Staring at the blank page before you …

Feel the rain on your skin … (x2)

(Gospel)
Staring at the blank page before you …

Feel the rain on your skin …. (x2)

The rest is still unwritten

The rest is still unwritten

 

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (14 & 7 and step-Mum to one boy (13). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, networking and of course my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in inspiration, music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

