Going for Gold ….. (revisited)

My 11 year old (H’Boo) took up karate in February of last year with GKR (a club HonieMummy’s Pop used to be a Sensei with). She attends classes with her Dad every Thursday (formerly Wednesdays) and has enjoyed it ever since she started. It has raised her self-esteem, confidence and I’m glad to say, has calmed her down (a bit) – after all pre-teen tantrums take a lot of calming, right!

She attented her grading a couple of months ago and this is her receiving her orange belt.

Just prior to this she attended the ‘Regional Finals‘ and attempted Saifa (a green belt kata 3 grades above her as a yellow belt) – she came away with the GOLD medal and it gave her the confidence to enter the National Finals.
And so the day of the National Finals came, I couldn’t be there as Sheffield was a long shot at 6am with the other kids, so her Dad took her and he entered also.
Shortly after lunch my phone rings and I see it’s her. I thought this was my chance to once again wish her luck now that she was there and settled.

“I did it Mum – I’m a UK Champion now” came the response to my answering the phone.”I got the GOLD

‘Proud’ does not go even half way to describe how I felt and still feel. HonieMummy was overwhelmed and the wet stuff visible.

So what;s next – Black belt kata?  Who knows?  But HonieMummy is proud whatever her H’Boo does :o)

*** Update***

Just wanted to add to this post that H’Boo did it again – she achieved a GOLD for the Regional Finals yet again, which has boosted her confidence no end. There is talk of re-entering the National Finals again after her next grading and I even heard whispers of entering ‘World classification’ events – you heard it here first!

Check out how to join GKR Karate on their website

Did I mention that I have some other interesting stuff over at:

Time Out for Mums Blog
House of Lynne Blog

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (14 & 7 and step-Mum to one boy (13). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, networking and of course my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Activities for kids, after school activities, children, karate, sport, Time Out and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Going for Gold ….. (revisited)

  1. Li-ling says:

    Congratulations to you all!! How exciting to have a UK Champion in the family.

  2. Thank you! What’s more important is that she loves doing it :)

  3. That’s an amazing story, well done to her picking up the gold. I too have an awesome GKR story about the Blind man who graded to 1st Dan Black Belt at the recent GKR Gradings in Yorkshire this year. Find the full article and video here..;. http://www.mma-dojo.co.uk/blind-karate-black-belt.php

    • Thanks for your comment and the link. My Daughter loves her involvement in this sport and is dedicated enough to have been on ‘the squad’ to keep up with training, in addition to classes that ultimately lead to grading. She has just qualified for the Nationals in November, picking up 2 more Golds (that’s 9 medals: 8 Gold/1 Silver- her 2nd position being for the World Championships). This time she did Kumate (previously the one she feared -getting top possible marks -she nailed it!). I hope she does well in the Nationals, because she will need to have a sabaticle from competitions due to her G.C.S.E.’s for a couple of years.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

