Lemon Loaf Cake (2 lb Baby)

A ‘lemon’ cake – surely not! In HoniesKitchen  – oh yes :o

During the preparations of the NCT Cheeky Monkeys Tea Party (24th June), I had decided that I would bake a Lemon Loaf Cake – but as there was a need for lots of cakes at the event (one promised for every ticket holder), then I thought I’d better make it a rather big cake – so a 2lb baby of a cake was decided upon!

As usual in HoniesKitchen, this is a simple recipe (honestly) and the kids can most definitely get involved: egg breaking, measuring, sifting, mixing is not just for the more sensible, bigger people.

I assured you  it was easy to make and here’s how:

21b Lemon Loaf Cake  (for a 1lb cake just half the measurements and the cooking time)

Ingredients:

  • 250g (8oz) butter (room temperature) or soft margarine
  • 250g (8oz) caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 teaspoons milk
  • 250g (8oz) self-raising flour
  • 100g (4oz) plain flour
  • The grated rind and juice of 2 lemons.

Method :

  1. Cream the butter/margarine and sugar together until light and fluffy, using a wooden spoon or an electric mixer. beat the eggs and milk in a separate bowl.
  2. Mix the floors together and gradually fold into the butter/sugar mixture – alternate with adding the egg/milk mixture.
  3. Add the grated rind and lemon juice.
  4. Mix till smooth.
  5. Spoon the mixture into a lightly greased and lined (use baking paper, snipped at the corners to fit or a purpose-made liner).
  6. Level the mixture with a palette knife.
  7. Bake in a preheated oven (160 degrees C / 325 degrees F / Gas mark 3) for an hour and a half.
  8. Use a skewer to test – if it comes out clean, it’s ready!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.




I hope you like this recipe and find it easy to follow. If you would like to see what else has been going on in HoniesKitchen, including Cooking for Kids – click on HoniesKitchen in the blog header to see more delicious recipes.
About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (14 & 7 and step-Mum to one boy (13). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, networking and of course my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in children, cooking with kids, food, Honie's Kitchen, lemon, Parenting, Pre-school, Toddlers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

