Post The Most by Orchard Toys (Review & Competition)

Does HonieLike Orchard Toys?  Was I pleased when Lynda of Orchard Toys asked me to review Post the Most from their Family selection of games? Mmmmh!

We have a ‘few’ of Orchard Toys games and they are in pristine condition. Is that because they are forgotten or because they are made so well, it would be near impossible to spoil them?

My package arrived and like a child at Christmas, I was dying to open the box, knowing from the blue printed logo that right there inside that box was something I could examine and put together and play with (with the children of course).

But, I was patient!  It would be much nicer to see a child open the box and watch their eyes light up when they saw what was inside.

What was inside?  Lots of colourful, think board pieces and card for use to put together to make the 3D game that Post the Most is:  Nine buildings made up of a selection of houses, a Post Office, a windmill (with a turning sail), and a light house set on a board displaying a village scene by the sea  and two neighbouring islands (for the light house and the windmill).

There were also 4 colourful ‘postie’ characters that could stand up; 32 parcel/letter tokens; a red cloth sack to put the parcels/letters in; 24 ‘delivered’ tokens; 18 thick board action cards; 4 sack boards (one for each postie); a double spinner (giving instructions of state of play) and a die (just one, so not dice!).

There was lots of popping out tokens and constructing buildings to do, but this was very easy and a child could do it (so easy for me). Then after a quick read of the instructions and a rounding up of players (you can have 2-4) we got on with it.

The object of the game is for each Postie to deliver the parcels and letters that they have selected from the post bag to the corresponding house.  They get to pick up parcels and letters as they play (when landing on a sack on the board) or whenever they get back to the Post Office. There are action cards to either speed up or slow down this process ‘and’ naturally a few rules (not hard ones) to keep things in order and offer challenges.  There winner is the first Postie to receive 6 ‘delivered’ tokens on their sack board and then make it back to the Post Office.

It was very easy for us adults to understand and we were able to keep the children in tow at sticking to the rules as well as having fun trying.

As the game promises it is suitable for 5 years and up (K’Boo is almost 5 and grapsed it) and O’Pops is 11.  It is also a fun learning game, linking Maths and English (adding the counters, counting spaces, reading the die); encourages personal and social skills (turn taking, communicating and following instructions) and develops language and communication skills (listening to and understanding how to play and interacting throughout the game).

In addition (take note Orchard) – this game teaches children a knowledge of their own world (understanding how letters and parcels are delivered, the roles that people play and what they might see in the community around them).

The reason that all of our Orchard Toys games are in pristine condition is that all of the parts are so well made from thick recycled cardboard and the surfaces are wipe clean. The games are so very colourful and practical and if you should ever lose a part, then their Customer Service Team would be only too happy to help you out. All of our Orchard Toys games are played with time and time again.

The verdict –  Did HonieLike Post the Most? Honie most definitely did  - HonieLoves Post the Most very much and so do all of the family.

Now who wants one?

You can have your very own Post the Most game from Orchard Toys if you are the lucky winner of this competition and all you have to do to enter is:

For Twitter fans:

Follow Orchard Toys on Twitter

and

Tweet the following statement on Twitter ….. “I would love to #win Post the Most by @Orchard_Toys http://wp.me/p1cFoK-CM on the HonieMummy Blog by @HonieBuk”

For FaceBook fans:

Like Orchard Toys on their FaceBook page

and

Leave a comment on Orchard Toys FaceBook page, leaving link http://wp.me/p1cFoK-CM and saying why you would like to win Post the Most.

Post the Most from Orchard Toys

Everyone  needs to leave a comment below to let me know which way you have entered (by Twitter or Facebook) and don’t forget to leave your Twitter or Facebook name so that I can contact you.

*Competition is open to all UK residents only and closes on Sunday, 9th October at 8pm.

I struggled to tweet about the close of this competition as the family of @harry_moseley were discussing his final hours.

Therefore, as a mark of respect the competition close has been moved to Tuesday 11th October at 8pm.

Good Luck and thanks for entering to win Post the Most by Orchard Toys

Disclaimer:  I am not an employee of Orchard Toys, nor have I any connection to them. I have not benefited financially from this review, but have received the product to review. I was approached by Orchard Toys to write this review.  I only ever write reviews that are applicable to the HonieHouse or that we feel passionate about. Orchard Toys will post the game directly to the winner and I will have no record of this transaction.
“Post the Most” by Orchard Toys ticked all the boxes and I am happy to provide an impartial view of our experience of the product.
About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (14 & 7 and step-Mum to one boy (13). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, networking and of course my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Activities for kids, Competitions, HonieLikes, Parenting, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Post The Most by Orchard Toys (Review & Competition)

  1. You gotta be in it to win it!

  2. HELEN says:

    I’ve entered via Twitter @jessies_online
    This game looks great. We have a puzzle similar to this,with buildings & letterboxes & a little mail van & it’s the most played with game in our house.

  3. Following Orchards Toys on Twitter and tweeted

    @littleboo_21
    http://boorootiggertoo.blogspot.com/

  4. Jenny says:

    I have entered via twitter, followed Orchard toys & tweeted the comment – hope I’ve done it right!

  5. I’ve entered on Twitter @janesgrapevine

  6. Emma Button says:

    I’ve entered via twitter as @jumblyMummy

  7. claire says:

    Hi. am following on twitter and have tweeted @claireishoop looks fab!

  8. Kate Cunningham says:

    I have followed Orchard Toys and twitter and tweeted @01592_katie

  9. Kate Cunningham says:

    Liked Orchard Toys on Facebook and linked to this site. Kate Cunningham
    @01592_katie

    I love Orchard Toys!

  10. Hiya! I have tweeted :)

    @Kanga_Rue

  11. Thanks everyone who has entered the competition so far. I was finding it difficult to tweet about the close of the competition whilst the family of @harry_moseley were discussing the final hours of this very brave little boy’s life. Therefore as a mark of respect, I have moved the close of the competition to Tuesday, 11th October, 8pm. Please take a moment to view his page and consider supporting the hard work of this inspirational 11 year old who has touched the hearts of so many.

  12. Lesley Renshaw says:

    Tweeted via @nidgysmum :)

  13. Jenna Keller says:

    following orchard toys on twitter and have tweeted @yummymummy299

    this closes on my birthday so got my fingers crossed!

    jennakeller126@yahoo.co.uk x

  14. Katherine A says:

    I entered on Twitter as @mumoffunkids

    I also entered on facebook (Seeing if I can post the most entries!)

  15. Emma Cella says:

    following orchard toys on twitter and have tweeted @emmajane2000

  16. Emma Cella says:

    I put a comment on Orchard Toys FaceBook page, leaving link

  17. LauraCYMFT says:

    I’ve done the twitter one! I love Orchard Toys, we have a few games and jigsaws and they are really great. @LauraCYMFT

  18. kathv says:

    I have retweeted as kathvcomps
    thanks
    I follow orchard toys on twitter as kathvcomps
    thanks

  19. kathv says:

    I like orchard toys on facebook – kath vlcek

  20. Diane Carey says:

    I have entered on Twitter as @capodemonte

  21. sharma gaskill says:

    I have entered via twitter @sharmagaskill

  22. I have entered by Facebook and Twitter.

    Fiona Martin or @star100x

    Fab liitle giveaway!

  23. Thanks to everyone who entered. The winner of Post the Most was Jenny (@Jenloulaidlaw).

    Keep popping in or subscribe to my blog for upcoming competitions and HonieLikes (reviews) – also HoniesKitchen and parenting topics.

    Coming up on the HonieMummy blog – HonieTravels

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

