Get Smart With Your Energy & Save Money

Teaching your children to stay safe comes high on all parents lists, explaining that we recycle and shouldn’t leave the tap on are simple and necessary too! Schools are now introducing content to the curriculum to help children understand finance and how to manage their own …. So that saving money should come naturally to them and credit will become something that is managed much more effectively in the future.

Why not then, teach your children, from a very early age, about the importance of saving energy to save money and to keep their carbon footprint at a minimum.

BritMums and British Gas have got together to encourage us parents to think about the imporatnce of saving energy and saving money and so ….

“I’m participating in the British Gas Smart Meter campaign. Smart meters work with an in-home display to show how much energy you’re using in pounds and pence. You can see how much you’re spending by leaving your phone charger plugged in all the time, or the heating on at night. And when you can really see how much you’re using, you can start to make small changes to become more efficient. Smart Meters automatically send British Gas readings so they represent the end of estimated bills! British Gas is committed to install 1.5 million smart meters by the end of 2012. (link to programme).”

Here are some easy things to tell our children to help save energy and keep the risings costs down a little:

Remember, there is no point asking your child to do these things if we don’t give them a reason ‘that they can understand’. “Because it costs Mummy and Daddy a fortune if you don’t” doesn’t quite cut it. Allowing them to digest the information in a way that makes perfect sense to them will leave them with lasting knowledge, will encourage them to do the things we need them to and they will feel that they have done something to please you and to make a difference.

  1. Turn the light off when you leave the room – we only need to light up the rooms we are in.
  2. Put the plug in when washing hands – it’s easier to make the water not too hot or cold.
  3. Close the front door when we come in and then take our coats and shoes off – then all of the warm air will not escape.
  4. Don’t leave the TV on if we are not watching it – we won’t be able to hear the other things we are doing and it will be talking to itself.
  5. Don’t open windows without asking Mummy or Daddy – it might not be safe and we might let all of the heat escape.

These are simple things to tell our children and although there is a much more comprehensive list of things we can do to save money around the house – it’s good to start somewhere. If your children have started to understand the reasons why we musn’t do the things we do that waste energy, then you are not loosing a battle going round switching off things and shutting doors behind them.

I’m looking forward to receiving a Smart Meter, it would be interesting to see where the most ‘wasted energy’ is going. I can remember as a child watching the wheel spin around on our coin meter – it’s a long time since I’ve seen one of those. I remember that the oven and the iron made it spin the fastest.

I think that our children will be just as fascinated by the Smart Meter and they might educate us how to save energy.

What are British Gas saying about the subject?

“The UK Government, along with others around the world, has committed to reduce energy usage and has set a target for all UK homes to have a smart meter by 2019.
The accuracy that smart meters provide lets us forecast energy use throughout the day, across the country. This means we can become more efficient in how we generate the nation’s power, producing cleaner, greener electricity.”

For more information about the smart meter visit http://www.britishgas.co.uk/energy-efficiency/smart-meters.html

This is a sponsored post, but I am participating because I really do think that this is a worthwhile and imporant campaign that not only saves us money in the long run – but encourages our children to do the same.

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (14 & 7 and step-Mum to one boy (13). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, networking and of course my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in HonieLikes, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Get Smart With Your Energy & Save Money

  1. My big bugbears at the moment for saving energy are turning off the dining room and kitchen lights because they are halogen lightbulbs and cost more than the energy saving lightbulbs. Obviously, when we’re not in them though.

    I also kick-off big time about not having the front door and porch door open at the same time. I’ve had to explain to hubby “think of it like an airlock, but for heat!” Seems to work.

    • I hate lights being left on. I usually come downstairs in the morning saying “It’s like Blackpool illuminations down here” and ‘doors’ dint get me started .. We have a small entrance hallway that has a door into a longer hall and I say the same thing about the inner door when the front door is open. I bet we sound like our Mum’s – but hey, it’s wasting energy and all those pennies add up!

  2. Really good post Lynne! I have a real struggle with the lights thing–we have energy saving lights in the windowless utility room, but it takes ages for them to get bright enough for me to see anything. Which means I often leave them on during the day if I’m doing lots of laundry or am in and out of there for various jobs. But if my husband sees a light on anywhere he turns it off (rightly so) except if he turns of the blasted utility room lights, and I don’t notice for 15 mn or so, then it takes them ages to grow bright again!! Perhaps I just need to change my lightbulbs in there… ;)

  3. Pingback: 11 energy saving tips from mums | Britmums and British Gas present 'Smart Mums'

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

