Tall or Grande – Take Time-Out as a Parent!

There’s little to beat it ……

Time Out with freshly ground and filtered coffee.  The bean gives comfort that few other drinks can offer and wow wow wipperdy doo dah it’s also a trend that is suited to all walks of life (student, business, ladies that do lunch and Mums on a moment – of bliss), so you will feel at one with the world around you.

Take your coffee where you can take more than 5 – somewhere where you can either switch off or watch the world go by …. God only knows you have earned it!

Costa, Starbucks, Seattle’s Best – doesn’t matter who is serving it, as long as it comes tall, grande, with or without the chocolate topping, preferably ‘with’ the monster chocolate muffin, caramel square or cheescake and definitely with a squashy comfy seat and time to relax and enjoy every last sip.

I so miss Borders in the UK and getting to read a book (after choosing it of the shelf). How I long for the Transatlantic flights that we (fortunately) make at least once a year and to sit and read and drink Seattles Best or Starbucks there – but do not despair ……… Even a book chosen from the shelf at home or in the aisles at Sainsbury’s en-route (or a moment stolen while doing the weekend food shop in the books/mags aisle) will hold until you find that moment to unwind.

You know you don’t do it enough and you sure as hell know you deserve it – so when you next have an hour or two (child(ren) at nursery or school or with the in-laws) - resist the urge to head back to the ironing, meal preparation (cook and freeze batches works well), hoovering or the overlooked garden …….. turn right instead of left today and head for the out of town retail unit that homes your favourite coffee brand or up town coffee shop that is far from a few famous named children’s brand clothing stores (you know that when you see them, you drop all inclinations to please yourself and provide for them instead).

The counter is like the alter to all good Mummy Time Out moments and has all that you need to de-stress, unwind, take more than 5 and feel re-charged for whatever lies ahead.  Repeat visits advised – often!

Note:  Try not to sample all of the gooey, sticky chocolate treats on offer ‘all at once’.

Enjoy!!!!!!!!!

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (14 & 7 and step-Mum to one boy (13). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, networking and of course my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Parenting Tips & Tricks, Time Out and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tall or Grande – Take Time-Out as a Parent!

  1. Sue says:

    I always find the chains very expensive and the coffee a bit of a let down to be honest. Although time out for me is a comfy corner of a local ‘spoons with a magazine or book and they are still happy to make me a flat white. (I do resist the muffins though!!)

    • For me it’s more about the time-out than the coffee. Although I don’t drink much at home, so I like a proper cup (home or away). I’ve taught myself over the years that the atmosphere of a coffee shop & watching the world go by is worth a couple if quid on any given day – I’m worth it! Lol

    • We have a lovely coffee shop in Chorley called Deja Vue. It’s a small business set up by a couple of young Italian girls, who needed a grant to help them along. They serve a good cup of coffee & cake and even do lunch deals.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

