Greedy Gorilla from Orchard Toys (Review and Competition)

18-383-greedy-gorilla (Orchard Toys own image)How do you teach kids about healthy eating in a fun way? Orchard Toys  those masters of educational games for children, came up with Greedy Gorilla which is both an educational and fun game for children of 4 to 8 years (although I can verify that teenagers will find it a scream too).

 

 

This game (for up to 4 players) is designed to allow children to make choices about Greedy Gorilla Contents (Orchard Toys)what they like to eat and to help them recognise what makes up a balanced, healthy meal in different variations, broken down to 6 food and drink servings. There’s even a vegetarian option of a completely balanced meal. Whenever a ‘junk’ food option is selected, children will enjoy posting the card into the Greedy Gorilla’s mouth and a real burping noise is activated …. there follows the giggles and of course the children are prompted to say “excuse me.” So table manners are also an important part of this games teaching.

As always, your children will have fun assembling this game and all of the parts as setting up is all part of the learning process.

Contents:

  • 4 playing boards (place settings)
  • 24 healthy food cards
  • 8 junk food cards
  • 1 gorilla posting box (requires 3 x AAA batteries, included)
  • 1 instruction leaflet

It’s no secret that I love Orchard Toys because whilst having fun, your children are also learning valuable skills. It’s those skills that can develop further when your child goes to school and allows them to be better prepared. Each and every game has an educational guide to show you what essential early learning skills your child can learn. This is what Orchard Toys say about this game ……

Educational Guide:

Orchard Toys Fun Learning Games encourage children to communicate, share and play together. This product has been designed to:

  • Link with Early Learning Goals
  • Link to National Curriculum Science Key Stage 1

Greedy Gorilla Place Setting (Orchard Toys)I would add to this guide that this game teaches children personal, health and social education skills (PHSE) which is an essential part of early learning that is a requirement in pre-school/school establishments. What better way to reinforce this teaching than to make it fun at home as well as in school.

You can bet that my Daughter couldn’t wait to get this one out of the box.

Whenever we have family days, rainy days, even snow days (when my house usually has a few teenagers to add to the entertainment factor) she gets a game out to play and she is keen to show everyone how to play. Greedy Gorilla comes with such good instructions and once you’ve played it once, you have a sound understanding of what’s required.

All of Orchard Toys games are very colourful, made of tough, wipe-clean cardboard, have educational value, come with very easy to follow instructions, are themed to be interesting and familiar for children to recognise and enjoy and they are always so much fun to play with.

In addition, Orchard Toys have a fabulous website to help you choose the right toy and age range for your child and have excellent Customer Service to help you make the right choice, assist you in your order and if you should loose any parts, they offer a replacement service.

If you want to be in with a chance of winning this fabulous game then please leave a comment answering the question “What is your child’s  favourite food that you consider healthy”. Please leave a way for me to contact you (Twitter name/ Facebook name).

You can increase your chances of winning by completing other tasks (via Twitter,  Facebook or both) but this is your choice and there is no stipulation to do so.

This competition is open to all UK residents and will be randomly drawn on Sunday, 31st March.

If the rafflecopter is not visible, please click on the link below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Greedy Gorilla Contents
Disclaimer:
I am not an employee of Orchard Toys but received this product to review as I have independantly reviewed for them before. Whilst some of the pictures and links are that of Orchard Toys, the opinions are that of my own. I only ever review products that are relevant to me and my family.
About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (14 & 7 and step-Mum to one boy (13). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, networking and of course my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Activities for kids, Competitions, HonieLikes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Greedy Gorilla from Orchard Toys (Review and Competition)

  1. kayleigh Dawn says:

    Cheese and tomato sandwiched cut into triangles :)

  2. Galina V says:

    My guys love carrot sticks, apples and grapes. And rice with peas and mixed veg.

  3. melanie stirling says:

    Raw carrots :)

  4. TheBoyandMe says:

    He loves green grapes!

  5. carrot sticks or dried apple :-)

  6. my 4 year old loves most fruits, he says he likes strawberries more than chocolate
    anna@marikar.net
    @ummziyad

  7. Janine Phillips says:

    They love cucumber x

  8. My little boy loves raisins and fruit! He eats it everyday!

  9. Mandy Moore says:

    My little boy loves tomatoes and cucumber

  10. lauracymft says:

    My little girl loves strawberries and blackberries. We get a pack of each every week and have them for our snacks.

  11. Joanne says:

    My oldest loves cheese and my youngest loves bananas

  12. Helen Carey says:

    ‘spicy’ hummus with pitta strips and cucumber!

  13. my children like eating chinese leaf.

  14. Kirstie says:

    My children absolutely love fruit. They’ll eat tons of the stuff!

  15. Christina Curtis says:

    They love Raisins.

  16. Heidi Cooper says:

    Grapefruit (Strange toddler!!)

  17. My son loves sweetcorn

  18. Maria Rayson says:

    Blueberries!

  19. stacey tripconey says:

    My daughter loves brocolli!

  20. Thanks Lynda for liking my post :o)

  21. Great review, thanks very much Honie Mummy! Would just like to add that our piece replacement service is only for lost or mangled games pieces, not jigsaws. Sadly, jigsaws are all slightly different and a replacement piece is unlikely to fit your jigsaw.

    • Thanks for that. I shall guard my jigsaw pieces very carefully. That said, Orchard Toys have ‘very’ sturdy boxes and thick cut pieces – far less likely to loose them in the first place (unless hoovered up or eaten by the dog) x

  22. my son will eat salad stuff (except lettuce) til the cows come home and any fruit you care to mention. I’m lucky, he likes healthy food,sure that will all change once he starts school”

  23. My nephew maxx loveeeeeeeees apples :)

  24. Fiona Martin says:

    My little boy loves boxes of raisins and my daughter loves strawberries.

  25. Kate Buckley says:

    My oldest will choose Apples over anything else and my youngest is great at eating homecooked food with things like brown rice and cous cous

  26. olivia280177 says:

    My children’s favourite healthy food is cucumber and blueberries.

  27. olivia280177 says:

    I follow on networked blogs, not GFC! xxxx

  28. Congratulations to Kayleigh White. Greedy Gorilla will be posted out to you from Orchard Toys.
    Well done and thank you to everyone for your entries. Yet another fabulous competition, generously donated to by Orchard Toys.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

