Lemon Drizzle Cake with Lemon Buttercream Filling – the Food of Love

 

Lemon Drizzle CakeOne sure way of putting a smile on the face of HonieDaddy is to give him what he wants *cough* and he is easily pleased with anything ‘LEMON’ –  lemon meringue, lemon cheesecake, lemon drizzle cake (to name but a few).

The Food of Love

I got the hint when he text me a response ending “Love you with lemon meringue pie on top”. Bless, it’s the food of love this lemon stuff.  Well, the car was in garage for repair this week and I didn’t have enough ingredients for lemon meringue pie, but lemon drizzle cake was a pretty good match!

You can do this recipe, with or without the lemon buttercream filling (using one or *two cake tins).

Ingredients:

  • 225g softened unsalted butter
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 2 lemons, zested and juiced
  • 4 medium free range eggs, lightly whisked
  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 50g ground almonds
  • Icing sugar

If using a lemon buttercream filling you will need:

  • 60g softened, unsalted butter
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 1 lemon, juiced

Method:

Heat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas 4. Butter and line the base of a 20cm deep, round cake tin *or two shallow, round 20cm cake tins. Beat the butter and caster sugar in a large bowl using an electric hand whisk until pale and creamy. Add the lemon zest and mix well. Whisk the eggs gradually into the butter mixture, beating well between each addition – don’t worry if it curdles.

 Sift together the flour and baking powder and fold into the cake mixture using a large metal spoon or spatula. Add the ground almonds and 3/4 of the lemon juice and fold until thoroughly combined. Spoon into the prepared cake tin and bake for 1 hour 15 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean and not sticky.

Put the cake tin on a wire rack to cool for 10 minutes. Meanwhile mix together the remaining lemon juice and zest and enough icing sugar to make a thick but runny icing (so it can coat and run of spoon, as picture).

 

Drizzle over the top of the cake. Cool in the tin for a further 30 minutes and then remove from the tin and cool completely before serving. 

For the lemon buttercream filling (if using):

(This is best done before adding the drizzle topping, but the cake should be cool, so you can cut it)

Cream together the butter and the sugar and gradually add the lemon juice until the preferred texture is achieved (thick enough to spread and hold it’s form).

If you made cake using 1 tin, then cut the sponge in half with a serrated knife horizontally (Tip: turn the cake, not the knife for an even cut) or *if you made cake using 2 tins, put the top layer to one side.

Spread the mixture evenly over lower half of cake, pushing gently downwards and outwards from centre of cake with a knife (to avoid ‘picking’ up the crumb surface of the cake) .

Place the top half of the cake on top of mixture to make a sandwich and press lightly to bond together.

Add the drizzle either as an even coating or in patterns if you so wish.

HonieTip: The lemon drizzle cake can be frozen if kept in a sealed container. It is much easier to add buttercream or icing to a frozen cake. Remember to leave enough time to defrost before serving.

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Foodies100, Honie's Kitchen, Vegetarian Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lemon Drizzle Cake with Lemon Buttercream Filling – the Food of Love

  1. Babygirl says:

    I love lemon cake but lemon drizzle cake? I definitely have to get in the kitchen and try out this recipe. This definitely looks amazing.. wonderful job and post.

    • Thanks! All things ‘Lemon’ works in this house. All things ‘Chocolate’ works well too, lol – I’m blogging my very own Chilli Chocolate Truffles in time for Valentine’s Day (using Hotel Chocolat Dark Chilli Chocolate from their Purist Collection)

  2. Mim says:

    Sorry I didn’t comment before, I’m new to blogging and I’m still a bit unsure about comment etiquette! I really like the look of this recipe! I spent so long trying to find a good lemon cake recipe, and in the end I settled on a lemon & coconut loaf which has become my staple lemon treat. But I’m definately going to try this recipe sometime!

  3. Oh my! This looks good – I will definitely be baking this at the weekend – thanks :o)

  4. Reblogged this on HonieMummy Blog and commented:

    Someone recently asked me for a good Lemon Drizzle Cake and naturally I knew there was one in HoniesKitchen … so for a zesty, yummy, buttercream filled cake this Spring Bank Holiday, look no further – enjoy!

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

