How Do You Perceive Me (one word Meme)

Oeeer, I’ve been tagged

How Do You Perceive Me (one word Meme)?  Why would I suddenly ask this question, out of the blue and what does it make you think?

Well the idea came from the lovely Michelle of Mummy from the Heart and if you were to pop over to her blog, this is what you would read:

I was sat on my bed this morning doing my prayers and my mind started to wonder to conversations I have had with online friends recently.  Basically it seems as if there are some people out there who have some very odd (but nice) perceptions of me.  They think things about me that I would never have guessed.  In the last week I have been referred to as super-blogger, uber blogger, ethical blogger, most positive blogger.  All very lovely and have boosted my confidence a good amount but would I ever have guessed people would think such things?  Well no.

This got me thinking about an email I received a few years back, one of those circular things that I normally hate but this one I loved and have never forgotten.  It was about the power of positive affirmations and how knowing what positive things others think of you can boost your own self-esteem.  It talked of an inspirational teacher who got all her children to write one positive word down to describe the other children in the class and then they had to hand them in.  The teacher then collated all the positive words for each child into a special sheet for them and handed it to them to read and keep.  They learnt that their peers saw them in ways they had never imagined and it had an immense effect on them.  The story goes that one of them died and a number of them attended the funeral and it was found that they all still had their lists 20 or so years later as they had been really touched by this loving gesture.  Did this really happen?  Who knows, but I love the sentiment of this story and therefore it does not matter to me if it was real.

Well, what about if us bloggers and virtual friends did something similar?  How marvellous would we all feel to learn these new facets of ourselves that we did not know existed.  Someone may say I am inspirational (another one I have heard about myself a few times recently) and me being me I would say ‘no not me’ but what have I done there?  Rubbished their opinion and that is not right, only they know if I have actually inspired them to do something.  If people are kind enough to give us a compliment we should be gracious enough to accept it…. and why not go one step further and actually go out and ask for it?

Well that is what I want us all to do.  I am creating a meme, called the 1 Word Meme and I would love for every one of us to be able to collate all the the positive words left by our real life friends, virtual friends and fellow bloggers so that we each have a sheet of positive affirmations to treasure and boost our self-esteem.

Now your bit – I would love to know how you perceive me?  I just ask for a 1 word comment please.  I’ll start you off, Michelle/ Mummy From The Heart…  is –  and leave your comment below.

And so  ….. I have myself been tagged by the equally as lovely Jayne over at Mum’s The Word along with a few others.

I started my task by clicking on the link she tweeted me to see her post ‘How do you Perceive Me’ and to answer her nervously asked question in her very own comments box.

I was kind … how could I not be?  I mean lets be honest, we don’t spend our time while blogging and tweeting keeping the company of those that we resent or make us grit our teeth (although these sort of people do pass us by – and we let them … pass by).

No, indeed we dont … we do however, spend our time gradually getting to know a rather nice group of people who inspire us, amuse us, support us and as they get used to a pattern of feed from ‘yours truly’, they notice when things aren’t as they should be – and listen when we need it, comment when we prompt it and offer some pretty good advice when we least expect it.

I most definitely agree with Michelle that if a person pays you a compliment, you should accept it graciously – this is something that ‘once upon a time’ I did struggle to do, but as my years of experience have passed me by and certainly some experiences that have tested me to the limits of my sanity …. I found myself giving that same advice to some of my clients when they were at a ‘low point’. If you pop over to my blog at ‘Time Out for Mums’  you will see a little of what I used to do before taking a sabbatical.

It is therefore, why I don’t mind tagging a few lovely ladies who I would most likely have ‘at least’ one word that comes to mind and would make them blush (a little), who often have me still here tapping away at the keys when the ‘school run warning’ has gone and when the dinner has come very close to a take away (oh well!). I could list a whole lot more, but that would take the fun out of leaving a few for them to think of and I didn’t want to turn this into a ‘chain mail affair’.

So, as it’s a meme my tagging list is (in no particular order): @Mammywoo, @TheBoyandMe, @kateab,  @pooohbear2811, & @Beckicklesie

I’m not sure if I was meant to include Jayne also, ‘as she tagged me’ – but I’d welcome her reply.

I didn’t realise our lovely @TheBoyandMe had already been tagged – so have asked @northernmum1 to join in also.

Now your bit – I would love to know how you perceive me?  I just ask for a 1 word comment please.  I’ll start you off, Lynne/ HoniebUK …  is –  and leave your comment below.

*Now I’m nervous!!!!

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Meme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How Do You Perceive Me (one word Meme)

  1. Mammywoo says:

    I am unable to narrow this down to one word!! I am not a one word woman!! I am a woman with a gob like the channel tunnel! (as in it’s big!)

    Ok.

    SupportiveLovelyTalentedSuperherolikeCaringfunny.

    Ok.

    (smug smile.)

    What??? I didn’t bend the rules!! Teeheee

  2. TheBoyandMe says:

    Mischevious.

    (I’ve already been done chick, I tagged Jayne)

  3. Kate says:

    Enthusiastic.

    Thanks for the tag.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

