Like a Duck to Water

Being a proud HonieMummy seems to be the order of the day today as K’Boo came home to show HonieDaddy her certificate for her achievements in swimming.

K’Boo was born in water and she has always shown a liking for it, finding all the puddles to jump in (it’s a Peppa Pig thing) and coming home frequently from nursery/pre-school in a different set of clothes due to getting soaked in the water tray or any other water activity she can find.

We’ve been going to my ‘not so’ local gym for a year now, where for some of the time we have been splashing about having fun in the children’s pool. Throughout this time, she always wanted to get in the ‘big pool’ with her older sister (H’Boo) wearing her arm bands.  She didn’t seemed phased by the depth of the water and just loved making as much of a splash, kicking her legs and trying to swim.

And so …….

She only started lessons mid-January (just before her 4th birthday) and has lessons once a week for half an hour at a time.  She really likes her teacher Sarah and can’t wait to go each week. Part of her bedtime routine the night before is knowing what she’s doing in the morning – needing to get ‘lots of energy’ for her swimming lesson and get to sleep quickly, makes bedtime an easy task.

The teacher at our pool/gym uses the Duckling Awards to help the children progress from Levels 1 to 5 showing awareness and competence in the water. The they will progress onto other ASA Kellogg’s awards relevant to their skills.

While HonieMummy has progressed with her lengths (another blog/another day) K’Boo has been having a great time at the other side of the pool amongst shark fins, dongles, floats – singing and racing up and down the pool and has gradually progressed to show her teacher that she is competent enough to achieve a Level 5 Duckling Award (sponsored by Kelloggs & Speedo).

Level 5 means that she can ……

Show the sequence:

  • jump in the water, turn around, swim back to the point of entry and hold the rail or side.
  • Submerge completely and blow bubbles under the water
  • Push and glide achieving a distance of 2 metres on the front or back
  • Float on the front or back and regain standing/vertical position
  • Swim 5 metres on the front or back using an over water arm recovery
  • Exit safely showing correct use of the ladder (or steps if no ladder available).

I love watching her swimming with the other kids in her lessons from where I’m swimming – she looks across and waves at me and cheers “I win, I win” every time she reaches the top of the pool (wearing a shark fin). I love the methods the teacher uses and the children always respond to her. Today, she wanted to show off her new ‘Doodle’ pumps to her! Or as she calls them Princess ballet shoes 🙂

If you have pre-school kid(s) and they aren’t learning to swim yet, I wholeheartedly recommend that you get them booked in somewhere. It’s much easier learning to swim when they are young  and  it’s essential that kids learn to swim for their own safety! Then, they will be able to have a great time when they are in the water. It’s like riding a bike – you never forget!

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Activities for kids, Pre-school, Time Out, Toddlers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

