Nobody’s (Lemon) Fool – Lemon Heaven

We like all things ‘Lemon’ in the HonieHouse and so the HonieKitchen is all action stations when an idea comes to mind that involves the little yellow things.

This week, as well as using the new BBQ more than the oven, we have repeated this quick and delicious recipe first found in Nigella’s book (Lemon Meringue Fool) and the measurements were a little different - but since then no measurements have been taken and it all just ends up in the bowl ….the best way to make anything, I think!

So from memory, this is what you need to make them.

Serves 6 small portions/4 large

  • 300 ml Double Cream
  • ½ jar of pretty good lemon curd (avoid the cheap stuff)
  • 3 meringue nests
  • 2 tsps of Limoncello (Italian lemon liquor) – if kids making it - leave this out

Whip the cream until it just forms – don’t overdo it!

Add the Limoncello to the lemon curd and stir

Break up the meringue into small pieces

Fold in the lemon curd mix and the meringue alternatively

Add to small glasses or bowls

I used Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference Lemon Curd and after
making it twice, used Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference Double Cream with
Madagascan Vanilla – oh my word, it was a taste sensation!

Have a go – this is a killer of a recipe for a dinner party,
BBQ or just because you deserve it and happen to like lemons desserts too!  It’s relatively inexpensive (if you consider the tiny amount of Limoncello you use and can continue to use) and can be made up in as little as 5 minutes.

I have not managed in the 3 times I’ve eaten this (this week) to take any photos – it’s not been around long enough!!!! I promise to put some on as I’ve already got the cream in to make more :o

For now, you can check out this photo of the mixing from Nigellas Kitchen http://www.flickr.com/photos/25365568@N08/5069034050/

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (14 & 7 and step-Mum to one boy (13). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, networking and of course my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in cooking with kids, Honie's Kitchen, lemon, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nobody’s (Lemon) Fool – Lemon Heaven

  1. TheBoyandMe says:

    Yummy, hubby would love that!

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

