Cuppy Cakey Yummy Honie (cupcakes & muffins made easy)

Well, I’ve seen enough cupcake posts this week to make me put on a stone in weight – good job I didn’t have time to make a dash for HoniesKitchen every time my eyes went pop at the lovely pictures or I sat their drooling over the ingredients – there’ll be plenty of time for that when K’Boo is at school full-time (erm, that’s tomorrow missus).

I guess I’ll have to join in the fun and make some cupcakes of my own and hope you too will like what you see and want to make them for yourselves 😮

Now you could cheat if you just wanted the fun of decorating cup cakes – but seriously, they are extremely easy to make, you have probably got all of the ingredients (all 4 of them) and the smell of freshly baked cake is not quite the same when unwrapping the cellophane off the shop bought ones (not even remotely!)

If you are decorating with butter cream icing, then flavours and measurements can be found on my blog here.

To make 12 light fairy cakes:

Ingredients

125g (4oz) soft margarine or butter

  • 125g (4oz) caster sugar
  • 125g (4oz) self raising flour (sifted)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Method

  1. Set the oven to 180 C (350 F), Gas 4.
  2. Put all of the ingredients into a bowl and beat (with a wooden spoon or an electric whisk) until smooth and the colour is much more pale.
  3. Divide the cake mixture into a 12 hole bun/cup cake tray, lined with paper cupcake cases.
  4. Bake in a pre-heated oven for 15-18 minutes
  5. Test with a skewer or the tip of a sharp knife and if it comes out clean the cakes are done
  6. Leave the tray to cool, then transfer  the cakes to a wire rack
  7. Ones they are cool enough you can add the butter icing and any topping you prefer – mine are left plain here as K’Boo made them and we moved straight on to making muffins.

 

kids in the kitchen - cupcakes

To Make 12 American Style Muffins:

Ingredients

  • 300g (10oz) plain flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 125g (4oz) light muscovado sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons sunflower oil
  • 50g (2oz) butter (melted)
  • 150g (5oz) natural yoghurt
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

Method

  1. Set the oven to 200 C (400 F), Gas 6
  2. Put all of the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder & sugar) into a bowl and gradually
  3. Add the eggs, oil, melted butter, vanilla extract and yoghurt, mixing lightly with a fork
  4. Divide the mixture between a 12 hole muffin tray, lined with paper muffin cases
  5. Bake in a pre-heated oven for 15-18 minutes
  6. Test with a skewer or the tip of a sharp knife and if it comes out clean the cakes are done
  7. Leave the tray to cool, then transfer  the cakes to a wire rack
  8. Ones they are cool enough you can add the butter icing and any toppings you prefer

If you prefer a citrus flavour, you can add lemon, lime or orange rind instead of adding the vanilla extract (use 1 fruit for the fairy cakes and 2 for the muffins).

If you enjoy reading and trying these recipes, then please take a look at the category cloud or drop down menus above in HONIESKITCHEN – there you will find more recipes, most of which can be done with or by children. You can learn some great parenting skills showing your children how to be safe and prepare food and they can learn some great life skills trying it out for themselves.

You can also go take a look at Mummy Mishaps linky for cupcakes – there are some great ideas and yummy, scrummy cakes .

I Love Cake

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in cooking with kids, Honie's Kitchen, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cuppy Cakey Yummy Honie (cupcakes & muffins made easy)

  1. They look amazing! I was going to make some cupcakes and put dolly mixtures on too. This weekend we’re cooking up a storm!

    Have you seen Mummy Mishaps linky for cupcakes?
    http://mummymishaps.blogspot.com/2011/09/toffee-apple-cup-cakes.html

    • I have now 😮

      I need to bake for Saturday – going to an NCT ‘get-together’ but using ‘Tea & Cakes’ as a damn good excuse to do so. Kate will be there and I get the impression she is expecting something marvellous – so I’d better impress 😮
      Lol, it’s more to do with catching up, given that there are a lot of children who have now started school – there will be lots of lovely, yummy cakes to encourage us to be there.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

