Pumpkin Cake – Looking good on any Halloween table

Pumpkin Cake – with cheese frosting and pecan topping

There are lots of recipes to choose from at Halloween. For me combining the joy of pumpkin carving and using what you have to create your Halloween Fayre, makes for a more traditional Halloween – Pumpkin Cake is a must for any table at this festive time.

For more Halloween recipes see HoniesKitchen, For Halloween inspiration see recent posts on my blog. To make delicious Pumpkin Cake follow this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree or cooked mashed *pumpkin
  • (*You can use your own Pumpkin flesh after carving one out (an ice cream scoop is ideal for this) – bake at 180 C for 1 hour or steam for 30 mins or slow cook on high for 1 hour and on warm till you are ready and then sieve the excess fluid.)
  • cream cheese frosting, below
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preparation of Pumpkin Cake:

Combine sugar, vegetable oil, and eggs in a large mixing bowl; mix well. Sift dry ingredients into a separate bowl; stir into oil mixture, beating well. Stir in pumpkin puree.

Pour batter into two greased and floured 9-inch round layer cake pans. Bake at 350° (180C) for 35 to 40 minutes. Turn out onto racks to cool.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 pound confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Combine all ingredients in large mixing bowl; beat well until smooth. Makes enough for 2-layer pumpkin cake.

Pumpkin Cake – you can make into layers if you choose

Frost pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting and sprinkle with chopped pecans.

For a more effective look – slice the cake into layers and put frosting in-between. Drizzle with maple syrup.

Inspired from a recipe given by a friend

Now nip on over to @TheBoyandMe Blog for some more Halloween fun by other Bloggers by clicking this ‘Show off Showcase‘ Link and over to Mummy Mishaps “I Love Cake” using the linky below.

                                         I Love Cake     ShowOff Showcase
About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in baking, children's parties, cooking with kids, food, ginger, Halloween, Honie's Kitchen, Parenting, Traditions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pumpkin Cake – Looking good on any Halloween table

  1. Jenny paulin says:

    Ok stop with the late night cake and cheesecake recipes!!! Makes me want a midnight feast ;0

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    This looks so good! I love pumpkin!

  3. Pingback: Halloween – Things to Do, Make and Bake | HonieMummy Blog

  4. I love the layered one, that looks amazing! I might well have to make that one.

    Thanks for linking this one up!

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

