100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week#19 – It Was Always Magnolia

I came across #10WCGU (Week #18 : Lest we forget …) when looking at Susan K Mann’s Blog and I was magnetised to read the posts and in awe at some of the writing.

I sensed that there may have been humour in other weeks, but given the topic – the power of the words and the emotion & passion that poured out from them was compelling – I was in awe of the writers and ‘commented on many of the posts’.

So when my comments were noticed and I was tagged by @jfB57 to take part in Week #19 of her meme, I felt quite honoured!  I can’t promise writing ‘to be in awe of’ – in fact, I’m sure of it! But I do like a good ode and a little bit of humour is my ‘comfort style’.

This week’s promt is “Are you sure it should be that colour” and given that dialogue is required, 150 words have been allowed (158 including the prompt).

Mine is a true story, I kid you not and takes me back to my childhood …. I hope you like it!

 

It was always magnolia, cream or even off white

“Do you remember as a child how Dad was always right”

“You can choose any colour Mother, as long as it’s one of those”

But one year Mum rebelled and it was caramel she chose.

At Christmas came our Nana, so as not to be alone

A dainty lovely lady, she was never known to moan

Several sherry glasses later “Are you sure it should be that colour”

“It isn’t like the way it was and it’s not like any other”

A few glasses later and her thoughts had turned to ‘gritty’

‘Frank’ she said, “tell your wife, this wallpaper is shitty”

I remember as the New Year came, the dust sheets all came out

And the infamous magnolia was the replaced again, no doubt!

“Are you sure it should be that colour” said her Sister with a grin

What came as my Mother’s reply cannot be mentioned herein

Click here to see all of the other posts taking part in 100wcgu Week #19

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in 100WCGU, Creative Writing, family, Meme and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week#19 – It Was Always Magnolia

  1. Love it, that’s fantastic, esp the line with the swearing in, made me chuckle 🙂 Love that it’s true.

  2. hahaha – Best be safe and stick with the magnolia eh?

    • You have no idea! As a child we hated magnolia – it was not what all good housewives had on their walls back then and as chidren (who normally love a splash of colour), my siblings and I hated it! But good old Nan (my Mum’s Mum btw) – even she could see that ‘caramel’ was perhaps not a good replacement – it just took a few glasses of sherry to say it!

      I grew up (I did, I did) and after I managed to get rid of the baggage that was my X-husband (how kind of him to divorce me, he wasn’t so bad after all) – my first home as a single mum was? Magnolia! And I loved it 😮

  3. Susan Mann says:

    Love it. Very funny and so well written. I love the way it rhymes and flows. You have a great talent here. Looking forward to reading more of these. x

  4. Sally-Jayne says:

    I enjoyed this. The writing flows really well and it made me laugh. I love that it’s a true story.

  5. Lynda Dixon says:

    Very good. Lovely to read a creation that makes you laugh. So very true, too. As an aside, my mother-in-law couldn’t say magnolia and always described it as ‘Mongolia’.

  6. Lorely says:

    That’s great! It made me laugh, and well done, getting it together in the right number of words!

  7. Hee hee, love it! Well done for keeping the rhythm and rhyme too… haven’t seen any others combining poetry with the dialogue, great piece.

  8. You’re writing does have a lovely flow. It’s good to see you join the challenge.

    It’s amazing to me how so many couples haven’t explored color together and tried to figure out livable compromises. For me, the opposition to that mirrors a thousand other tragedies of life.

    • Thank you and yes it is amazing! My Dad was in charge when it came to DIY – but the bottom line of it was that Mum was the boss in all matters concerning ‘the house’ – his was the ‘garden and garage’!

      But …. and it’s a big but! This was my Mum’s Mum talking and oh, how it was funny to see that there was only one person that could be ‘firmer’ than Mum. My Dad must have thought all his Christmases had come at once.
      Even Mum laughed about it for years!

  9. jfb57 says:

    Excellent! I’m so glad you have joined us because it would be a shame to miss such great writing. I have to say though, magnolia does go with everything!! 😉

    • I’m afraid it does and I have fallen into this trap a few times. When you move into a house, it’s great to see clean ‘creamy white’ walls – I finally changed the lounge (just one wall) after 4 1/2 years and was only thinking this morning that the downstairs loo has ‘still’ not convinced me of the colour it needs to be! I need inspiration 😮 “Julia can do a prompt on downstairs loo colours and solve my dilema”

  10. Lisa Wields Words says:

    Welcome to the challenge! this was absolutely delightful and giggle inducing. I think you did, indeed, write an awe filled piece. The cool thing about this challenge is the challenge itself. We all have good weeks and bad weeks. Sometimes the challenges stump us and we struggle for the words. But, with each challenge, I believe we all grow as writers and find our strengths as well as our weakness. This challenge keeps me going. I hope you continue.

    • Thank you – too kind! I think I might just hang around for a bit 😮
      I enjoyed reading Week 18’s and now all of Week 19’s. I don’t usually find the time to join in with memes, even if I look and think ‘like that’ – so this is looking pretty good so far!

  11. Just. Brilliant.
    Glad to have you on board!

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

