Food Bloggers Unplugged

I have been tagged by Linzi @LancashireFood to take part in the fun of #foodbloggersunplugged  It’s an inspired idea to get to know a little bit about the faces of those who write great blogs about yummy food (if I do say so myself)  and to tag another 5 foodie bloggers to keep the initative on a roll. Well how could I say no?  All of the foodie bloggers I know are so nice!
So I’ll drag myself away for these goodies that HD brought me back from Slattery’s in Whitefield and tell all that Linzi wants to hear 😮

The questions we have to answer are as follows:-

  1. What or who inspired you to write a blog?
  2. Who is your foodie inspiration?
  3. Your greasiest, batter – splattered food/drink book is?
  4. Tell us all about the best thing you have ever eaten in another country, where was  it, what was it?
  5. Another food bloggers table you’d like to eat at is?
  6. What is the one kitchen gadget you would ask Santa for this year (money no object of course)?
  7. Who taught you how to cook?
  8. I’m coming to you for dinner what’s your signature dish?
  9. What is your guilty food pleasure? 
  10. Reveal something about yourself that others would be surprised to learn?
Finally…tag 5 other food bloggers with these questions…like a hot baked potato…pass it on!
  • Use this home made expensive Food Bloggers Unplugged  logo (below) on your blog and link up with the hashtag #foodbloggersunplugged on Twitter.

So here goes ….

1.What, or who inspired you to start a blog ?
Well initially it wasn’t about food or parenting or any of the things that you usually see blogged frequently …. Until an injury that has had me hang up my neat little uniform – I used to be an Advanced Sports/Holistic Therapist and my advice was always a bit on the metaphorical side and often on a more personal level. Many of my clients used to say “you should write about that” – so when I was introduced to Twitter by @Kateab – I did!  I’ve moved on to another blog now, but you can still link back to it!
The person who got me writing my foodie experiences was @Beckislecksie with her Oui Chef  Challenges

2.Who is your foodie inspiration ?
I know I’m going to get a few groans at this – but I just love Jamie Oliver!  I’ve watched him go from ‘naked’ to ‘Ministry of Food’ and beyond and just love the passion he has for his ‘Mission to change the way we cook and eat’.  He got HD in the kitchen and I often refer back to his books for inspiration.
I must confess, I’m also influenced by the passion of Raymond Blanc – I trusted him enough to buy Analon pans (glad I did, I hate washing up and they ‘never’ stick). My love of his cooking had me whisked off on a lush stayover at Le Manoir with lunch, dinner and breakfast that I cannot  compare to anywhere – the rooms  unexplainably ooze of quality and comfort, the service 2nd to none and surroundings and finishing touches (organic fresh fruit grown in their gardens in your room (I can still smell the stickiness on the grapes), madeira wine and chocolates) leave it  worth every penny!

3.Your greasiest, batter-splattered food /drink book is ?
That would be ‘Jamie Olivers – ‘Ministry of Food ‘and probably the Fish Pie, Lasagne and Chilli Con Carne recipes are splattered the most!

4. Tell us about the best thing you have ever eaten in another country, where was it, what was it ?
I answered this when I first scanned the questions – It is without doubt the freshly made pasta at Becko’s in the Theatre District of New York City. It was ‘divine’ and I almost had the same reaction with a pasta dish in La Summa in the Italian Quarter (North District) of Boston MA – but not quite!

5. Another food bloggers table you’d like to eat at is ?
Oh that is hard!  Oh so many.  But I can say I have enjoyed my experience of sharing cake with some lovely food blogging ladies via the Clandestine Cake Club and such lovely cakes they are too! Much more of this would allow me to share many a table with many loveley ladies – and more cake! If Raymond Blanc did the blogging at @LeManoir – I’d like to join him too!

6. What would be the one kitchen gadget you would ask santa for this year ?
A Kitchenaid Artisan Mixer – always thought they looked amazing – but would I use it enough to justify the cost?

7. Who taught you how to cook ?
My Mum!  I used to always help her in the kitchen. It’s amazing what you can learn when peeling & chopping vegetables.  Everything else I’ve learned I’ve done through my enthusiasm of cooking. A stint of vegetarian cooking (over 10 years) helped me be a lot more adventurous. I still can’t make ‘apple pie’ as good as her though!

8. I’m coming to you for dinner whats your signature dish ?
No Bake Lemon Cheesecake – I have it off to a fine art and there are more twists than the lemon in there!!!  I like making mini individual pots – just to prove I can do it better than GU ha ha!

9. What is your guilty food pleasure ?
err Chocolate! and if you want me to be specific – chocolate and orange combinations really rock my boat – amongst lots of other combinations. I have been a lover of Hotel Chocolat for ‘many’ years and I’m  lucky enough to be spoiled with these several times a year!!!!

10. Reveal something about yourself that others would be surprised to learn?
I used to be a very keen motorsport fanatic!  I ran a National Club called Trackside, used to go in the ‘Dog House’ box above the pits to watch races at Silverstone and used to walk around the paddocks for ‘testing’ with Team McLaren for the British Grand Prix! Naturaly I’ve met lots of the drivers and was once almost run over by Michael Schumacher on a moped in Monaco! 
Phew! That wasn’t so hard now was it?

My bloggers I am tagging are (tension building moment – drum roll)

  1. The Boys Mother  :0 @TheBoyandMe
  2. Kate – @Kateab – The Five F’s
  3. Chrissie  – @Mediocre_mum
  4. Dan – @TheCurryGuy
  5. Becca – @Beckicklesie (for old times sake)

If you have been tagged you will need to link to A little bit of heaven on a plate.

Go on join in and have a bit of fun 😮

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in food, Honie's Kitchen, Meme, networking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Food Bloggers Unplugged

  1. Susan says:

    Ahhhh such lovely answers there Lynne and thanks for joining in…I have most if not all of Jaimie’s books here…your comments about Le Manoir…wow! I would love to go there (one for the bucket list). And many thanks for saying such nice things about the south lancs clandestine cake club. x

  2. Mariana says:

    It was interesting (and inspiring) to read this interview.

    • Thank you! I hope you feel inspired enought to take a peek at all of the other food bloggers in the link-up – there are lots of lovelies out there who inpire me every day!

      Also, hope you find the time to check out what is happening in HoniesKitchen (in the category cloud on the right or the menu bar above).

      Thanks again 😮

  3. I am going to do this still! I reckon give me a week and I know who I’m tagging too!

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

