100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups #21 – The Cabin at Pass Creek Road

I have only recently come across this weekly meme ‘100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups‘  – cleverly thought out and planned over at Julia’s Place and can recommend it as a break from the norm’ and a chance to escape into the keys for a bit of fun or an attempt at literary genius (a bit of fun in my case) and attempt at least to try and entertain the talented, who have given me some intreguing and sometimes moving pieces to read.

This week’s 100 Word Challenge gave us this picture prompt …

And after a busy week of parenting tips & tricks and serious cake baking and reading some of the entries so far, I have finally put text to screen and can submit my interpretation of #100WCGW and read the other posts. Here it is, hope you like it ……

Melanie stared up at the glass as the mornings’ first light crept in through the window. This marked the start of another day of the waking fear that gave no clues to her fate.

She had been numbed with worry in the night, but as the noises of the forest started to sing out to her, she was much more alert and cold with sweat, hoping not to hear noises from the other side of the cabin door.

And then they came, waking every sense in her frail body. She recoiled as the door swung open and there he stood …

Please don’t forget to nip back to Julia’s Place and take a look at all of the other entries – each one promises an interesting read and proves that a picture tells a thousand tales ….. who’s is the true account of what happened – you decide!

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in 100WCGU, inspiration, Meme, Time Out and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups #21 – The Cabin at Pass Creek Road

  1. What a great tale, welcome to 100WCGU. Please come back with another episide next week.

    • Thank you – I’m rather new to this challenge. I’m usually immersed in parenting issues and lately ‘cake’. You can thank Susan Mann for tempting me in on ‘Lest we forget’ week.

      I’m not sure that the next prompt will allow a return of this tale – let’s wait and see!

  2. Lisa Wields Words says:

    Who is he? I wonder. I hope you continue this story, as it exciting and disturbing and vivid with detail. Great read.

    • I have no idea where this story came from (I’m a witty poem kinda gal) but glad I did it when I wasn’t busy and before reading everyone elses. Maybe next weeks prompt will allow me to continue – over to Julia!

  3. PollyBurns2 says:

    Full of foreboding. Love the image of the door swinging open and there he stood. I wonder what happens next.

  4. susankmann says:

    Frightening. Please tell me she will be ok? What a great piece, which has left me wanting to know what happens next. Please tell me? x

    • I’m a spontanious person (very) so I won’t know myself till Julia gives the next prompt – lets hpe it’s a Christmas Party or something. I’m not sure I can handle a ‘scarey’ outcome myself 😦

  5. Sally-Jayne says:

    When I started reading this I thought her fears were going to be irrational, so the ending came as a real shock. Great piece.

  6. Robin Hawke says:

    Enjoyed the physical aspects of her worry, Robin

  7. Rob says:

    Excellent post.

  8. A deep sense of dread is evoked here. It ended just as the story began!

  9. He could be anything from the rent collector to a murderer to a ghost. I like that it leaves you wondering.

  10. Great piece…wasn’t sure that there actually was anything to be scared of, thought it was in her imagination so your ending was a good shock. Well written 🙂

  11. jfb57 says:

    This is a such a great piece because it is like a menu with all sorts of things being presented that it could possible be but we have no idea! You have let your readers sense the tension and fear but have given nothing away. Great writing!

  12. ventahl says:

    Its the postman! Stop it, I like it! So give? husband, kidnapper, rapist, nut? Or all of them? This story deserves an ending! Glad to have you with us!

  13. gsussex says:

    I fear there is not going to be a happy ending? Or could there be a last minute twist in her fate? Enjoyed the imaginery of the scene and emotions . . .

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

