Parenting Tips & Tricks for Christmas No. #5 – Clear the Clutter

We’re onto Parenting Tips & Tricks No. 5 – Clearing the Clutter …

I have committed to posting a Parenting Tips and Tricks to my lovely readers every day up till Christmas.  If you want to know how and why this idea started  you can track back   to Tips and Tricks No #1

I can’t believe how quickly December came round and now that it has, Christmas is knocking on my door to come in.  I haven’t got my decorations up yet, but plan to next weekend. Which means that I have that dreaded clear up/clear out thing to do in the week (and as if I have the time to do it, with Christmas Nights Out already started and 2 nights of the School Nativity Play also). I’m not complaining about either of these upcoming events, I’ve looked forward to them for ages! But there are not enough hours in the day as it is – never mind using them up to do a clear out!

So my parenting tip & trick for today is seriously a ‘trick’ – because I believe wholeheartedly in cheating in the category of ‘Domestic Needs’, which includes cooking, cleaning, shopping and anything ‘house’.

If you can’t clear the clutter on time – hide the clutter till you have some time ……

If, like me, you have all of your Christmas Decorations in boxes in the loft – replace them with boxes of things that you will not need and that are most definitely in the way over the Christmas period .

This might, almost definitely include any toys, books, clothing that you plan to get rid of because you are either replacing for new or because the children have grown out of them.

You can use cardboard boxes, readilly available from supermarkets (but label them) or plastic boxes that enable you to see the contents.

In the New Year you are more likely to have a little bit more time and can sort through what needs recycling: selling on ebay; giving away to friends or the charity shop – or what wants chucking out!

Get the kids to help. This might sound like a bad idea, but they might actually have an idea what they have grown out of or no longer have any interest in. If you think they might give you a hard time, try the line “We are getting ‘new’ things to play/wear – but ned to get rid of the old ones first.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So all your recycling and clutter out of the way – you can get on with the preparations for Christmas and the knowledge of knowing that not only is your house tidy of clutter during the celebrations – you have almost practically sorted it all out when it all comes back down from the loft and the decorations go back up again.

You can see more Parenting Tips & Tricks for Christmas:

Tips and Tricks No. 1 – Cadbury’s White Chocolate Fingers

Tips and Tricks No. 2 – Advent Treats in Organza Bags

Tips & Tricks No. 3 – Recycling Christmas Cards into Gift Tags

Tips & Tricks No. 4 – Hand Painted Christmas Wreaths

Tips & Tricks No. 5 – Clear the Clutter

Tips & Tricks No. 6 – Recycling the Cost of Christmas

Tips & Tricks No. 7 – Saving Money on Kids Toys (and Big Boys Toys)

Tips & Tricks No. 8 – Gift Bag it!

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in children, Parenting, Parenting Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

