Parenting Tips & Tricks for Christmas No. #7 – Saving Money on Kids Toys (and Big Boys Toys)

Now how to keep the cost of the children’s (and big boy’s) toys down …

Following on with saving on the cost of presents by recycling (Parenting Tips & Tricks No. 6 – Recycling the Cost of Christmas)

Parenting Tips & Tricks No. 7 tells you about saving money using the internet – and this is not just sat at your PC/Mac at home!

If you have a WAP phone – that is you can get the internet on it …. when you see a ‘got to buy this right now’ gift for the kids …. Stop! Check the internet to see if you can get it cheaper elsewhere, call them to see if they have it, reserve if they have and instead of heading there at that very moment, schedule it in for a day you can buy other stuff nearby (petrol costs down too!).

No internet, but you have a phone – use your camera! (oh come on, you have to have one of these) Take a picture of the item (showing the cost) and check when you get home or check it against another store while you are out.

Now while you are at home, see if you can buy it online. I guarantee that most of what you want is available online and that even factoring in delivery costs (most of the sites don’t even charge) – it will be cheaper to have it delivered to you! Sites I particularly recommend are Amazon, Play.com & Smyths Toys. If you have a Nectar card (Sainsbury’s) … log onto your Nectar account first – this way you will get points for spending and you wil be surprised at how many companies now offer Nectar points (the list has gone up considerably this year) ….. even chocolates come with points!

It’s as simple as putting ‘Nectar’ in Google and then you get to see what seems like an endless list of all your favourite stores and suppliers – click on the store you want and earn points for ‘every’ pound you spend. This is what the Amazon store looks like through Nectar. You press ‘shop to collect’ and it then takes you straight to Amazon and collect Nectar points for you.

                       

Take a look at the Nectar Website – you might be tempted to get a card anyway as you can be adding up points the whole year round! I use my points every year for Christmas spending.

Take a look at all of the other Parent Tips & Tricks for Christmas for some money saving/time saving ideas ….

Tips and Tricks No. 1 – Cadbury’s White Chocolate Fingers

Tips and Tricks No. 2 – Advent Treats in Organza Bags

Tips & Tricks No. 3 – Recycling Christmas Cards into Gift Tags

Tips & Tricks No. 4 – Hand Painted Christmas Wreaths

Tips & Tricks No. 5 – Clear the Clutter

Tips & Tricks No. 6 – Recycling the Cost of Christmas

This is NOT a sponsored post – I recommend all of the above, because it’s what I like and do myself and choose to share this information with my readers and followers because I’m very nice 🙂

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Parenting, Parenting Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Parenting Tips & Tricks for Christmas No. #7 – Saving Money on Kids Toys (and Big Boys Toys)

  1. Mariana says:

    Like your tips (and tricks)! 🙂

  2. susankmann says:

    Some great idea. Well done lovely x

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

