100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week #22 – Unfamiliar Territory!

A busy week has left me offering my 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups a little later than usual. With so many comments wanting to know the fate of Melanie in last weeks ‘picture prompted’ challenge, I felt perhaps I should try to continue the story line. But as the promt from Julia suggests ‘Is that bells I hear ringing‘ – does it ring any bells?

… She knew not how this day would end. In a twist of fate that she had been privy to be aware of, she was still unaware of how she would cope in this unknown territory of her fears …. it did not ring any bells, for her! 

 She brought all thoughts back to her own being, sat recoiled on the cabin floor and felt a deep sense of sadness at the knowledge of having something that was hers, taken away forever, no chance of it’s return. 

His hand beckoning her, did not offer any comfort. A tear rolled down her cheek!

Hope you enjoyed reading and take the time to read all of the other entries over at Julia’s Place.

100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week 22  #100WCGU

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in 100WCGU, Meme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week #22 – Unfamiliar Territory!

  1. Ross Mannell says:

    The taking of innocence does take away something never to return. In our lives there are points where the innocence of childhood is slowly replaced by the knowledge of adulthood. With that knowledge, for many also comes wisdom born of experience. For others, experience and wisdom don’t go hand in hand as they repeat mistakes made.

    Thanks for sharing your take on the prompt. 🙂

    • Did you read the week before Ross – I wasn’t sure how I would follow up this week, as it was far from planned to start with. I’m afraid you will still have to bear with me on Melanie’s fate – it is, you see, yet to be revealed!!!

      But, that said, I completely agree with you on your comments – this is true enough to have the reader go off in a frenzie of ‘angry anticipation’ of what could be.

  2. This was a difficult read, but I see what you’re trying to do with it. I hope you get more time for tightening when you compose the next one. I think the subject is very interesting. It’s awfully sad to care about someone who cares for someone else. This could go in so many different ways!

  3. ottabelle says:

    Good job! It’s awfully hard, for me at least, to get everything in in just 100 words. And you’ve done it twice so far. Melanie’s story is so sad. I can’t imagine something so terrible as loosing my children… which is what I think has happened. You haven’t exactly revealed it, have you? But that’s immediately where my mind went.

  4. ottabelle says:

    To be clearer, and you can combine these, you made two stand-alone stories work together twice.

    That’s better. 🙂

  5. This is such a painful piece, but well done. While it is great to continue your story, and we will come back for more, don’t feel confined to do it in the challenge. Sometimes the prompts don’t work for the needs of your story. I think you made it work this week, but I also think you struggled with that. I have many starts in my challenges, and no finishes.
    Great work.

    Lisa

  6. I have no idea what Melanie’s story is but I am intrigued. I hope we get more.

  7. Susan Mann says:

    What a sad and painful piece. I am pleased you continued with Melanie’s story. You wrote it beautifully x

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

