100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week 23 – The Christmas (Dinner) Song

This week on the 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups, held over at Julia’s Place – there is going to be 25+ Christmas Dinners to scoff as she has asked us all to base the theme of the challenge on cooking Christmas Dinner to the tune of a Christmas carol.

I used the tune of my favourite Christmas Carol – The Christmas Song (Chestnuts roasting on an open fire …) but failed miserably to cut the 4 verses down enough to make 100 words – there are 103!

I don’t mind and will accept the flack as it was fun trying and no matter how many ask me to chnge this and that – I’m not budging!  It’s my work (warts and all) 😮

And so, here it is …

Potatoes roasting or are they on fire

Kitty cats nipping at my toes

Karoke being sung by the kids

I’m cooking in my panty-hoes

Everybody knows the Christmas lights

Help the hallway shine so bright

Grandad running to the loo in a rush

I hope he makes it there alright

The Christmas Dinner’s on it’s way

I shout from the kitchen as they pray

Everybody is going to cry

When they see that the turkey has burned dry

My offering this year deserves simple praise

We’re having our feast on Christmas Eve

Down t’ Railway, Dinner for five

This year – a guaranteed relief

For the record – I can cook!  We are however, having our Christmas Dinner on Christmas Eve as we are a typically modern family with 3 sets of parents (both HD and I have been married before) and so to be a fair Mummy, I alternate Christmas Dinner each year.

We are also going out for our dinner this year as Mummy has decided given that we will only have until lunch on Christmas Day with 2 of the kids – that time is precious and I’m not spending very much of it in the kitchen.

So my inspiration was very real and fun to play with.

Hope you enjoyed this and will take a look at all of the other entries in #100WCGU Week 23.

Merry Blooming Christmas 😮

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in 100WCGU, Creative Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups Week 23 – The Christmas (Dinner) Song

  1. What a great piece…to be honest I prefer this to the original.
    Have a lovely Christmas …sounds like you will 🙂

  2. Wonderful and never mind about the few extra words, isn’t much of Christmas about having a few too many? Good decision btw, to eat out and enjoy your time together.

  3. jfb57 says:

    I love the ‘carol’ I could hear the music in my head so well done. I love how you have organised Christmas. It can be quite tricky when there are lots of ‘mums & dads’. Enjoy the pub. Just think – no washing up!!

  4. It’s a long time since I’ve ‘eaten out’ on Christmas Day – used to do it all the time before I had children (not counting eating at relatives).

    But, yes, time is of the essence and I’d rather spend it with the children, not stressing in the kitchen and then rushing them to open their presents before they leave.

    We are scheduling to eat Christmas Dinner at lunch time on Christmas Eve (take our time) and then home for some family games and fun.

    Christmas morning, we’ll have breakfast together and take our time opening pressies. When H’Boo goes to her Dad’s and O’Pops to his Mum’s – HonieDaddy, K’Boo and Me will have a little Christmas lunch and given she’s still so young, let her enjoy her new toys at her leisure.

    Thanks for the comments – I’m not a ‘great’ writer like some – but do enjoy a bit of fun and like to join in with my efforts.

  5. GoofyJ says:

    lol! I love the part about cooking in panty hose – just made me laugh. Great job!

  6. Sally-Jayne says:

    I really enjoyed this! Have a great Christmas.

  7. gsussex says:

    I like the different themes and ‘pictures’ created within your carol! Fun and has the unexpected too! Have a great Christmas with the family!

  8. susankmann says:

    What a great piece. I love how you have this all organised and accommodate everyone. Well done. xxx

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

