Parenting Tips & Tricks for Christmas No. #14 – Playing Host to the Elves

Welcome back to Parenting Tips & Tricks for Christmas. I shall resume with No. 14  – Playing Host to the Elves and a brief note to say that I have been a ‘poorly bunny’ – but that today, I have got back into the swing of things amongst the busy build up to Christmas.

I spotted this on SW NetMums and thought it was such a lovely idea that I wanted to share it with you …..

Playing host to the elves – posted by Sam C

My sister-in-law and I started a new tradition last Christmas. I read somewhere about the elves (it’s quite big in USA), and went everywhere (and I mean everywhere!) last November looking for a toy elf of some sort. On 1st Dec I popped around to my brothers and left the elves sitting on the doorstep, holding a passport and letter of introduction from Santa. My brother returned the favour for us so my son found our elf. Basically the elves stay with you until Xmas Eve and the kids have to put them to bed every night under the tree and sprinkle some magic fairy dust over them (glitter). The elves then get up to all kinds of mischief during the night and the kids have to find them in the morning! Ours did all sorts of things: he was in the fridge one morning, put chocolates in the boys’ school coats, had a movie evening with some of the teddies and left popcorn all over the place, made some cookies and left the kitchen in a mess….far too many to mention! The climax to the proceedings is on Christmas Eve, when Santa arrives to take the elf home with him and leaves a note for the children in return.

Now wasn’t that sweet – I’m going to start this tradition ‘now’ and not care for it being late in the month. I could tell the children that for the first year we do it, Santa says we are ‘on trial‘ and so get to do it for a few days the first time. If we look after them very well, we can do it for longer next year.

Take a look at all of the other Parenting Tips & Tricks for Christmas, to save you time, money and pick up some crafty ideas …

Tips and Tricks No. 1 – Cadbury’s White Chocolate Fingers (intro to Tips & Tricks)

Tips and Tricks No. 2 – Advent Treats in Organza Bags

Tips & Tricks No. 3 – Recycling Christmas Cards into Gift Tags

Tips & Tricks No. 4 – Hand Painted Christmas Wreaths

Tips & Tricks No. 5 – Clear the Clutter

Tips & Tricks No. 6 – Recycling the Cost of Christmas

Tips & Tricks No. 7 – Saving Money on Kids Toys (and Big Boys Toys)

Tips & Tricks No. 8 – Gift Bag it!

Tips & Trick No. 9 – Christmas Fairy Cup Cakes

Tips & Tricks No. 10 – Cookies with Love

Tips & Tricks No. 11 – Children’s Christmas Parties (and Tea Parties)

Tips & Tricks No. 12 – Lets Swop Toys!

Tips & Tricks No. 14 – Home Made Christmas Crackers

Take a look at Crafty Christmas (a cheat’s guide) by @TheBoyandMe for more crafty ideas and link up any ideas you might have.

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Parenting Tips & Tricks, Traditions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parenting Tips & Tricks for Christmas No. #14 – Playing Host to the Elves

  1. Mariana says:

    What a great tradition! Lovely.

  2. susankmann says:

    That is just the sweetest tradition ever. x

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

