16/366 How one used to phone home #Project366

Out for a bit of shopping and camera handy (of course!) I passed a line of beautiful, red telephone boxes that I forgot were there.  It’s been a long time since I headed for that end of town (and it’s not even a town anymore – how times change).

K’Boo asked me “Mummy what are those” – “Telephones” I replied – “They are for when you are mobile, but they are not mobile phones”

This is How One Used To Phone Home

Take a look at all my other Project366 posts and those of others using the search #Project366. Each Sunday you can link up to the weekly favourites over at TheBoyandMe Blog.

TheBoyandMe's 366 Linky

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Heritage, photography, Project366 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 16/366 How one used to phone home #Project366

  1. Don’t they look grand! They are such a British Icon.

  2. I love this, it’s beautiful! The old fashioned telephone boxes, which you only tend to find in conservation areas nowadays, were stunning and so much effort was put into them. We used to have one on our old road (Victorian housing, conservation area) and as a family of six with boys in their teens, mum actually had outgoing phonecalls disconnected in our house. If we wanted to make a phonecall we had to go over the road! Loved that phonebox!

    • My Dad is an Engineer and he made a case to go over the phone with a padlock – you could pick up the reciever and answer, but ot dial. We figured out how to tap the line clicking the reciever for a while (but BT stopped this being possible) and then we learned to pick the lock with a hairclip, but Dad put a better one on.

      so the phone box at the top of our road became a place to go and pop 10p in to call friends/boyfriends and that 10p seemed to last for ages.

  3. I forgot to say, I hate the monstrosities that they have designed nowadays to be phoneboxes: there’s nothing attractive about them and they are cold, hard boxes not suitable to be the vessels in which people make declarations of love or tenderness!

    It’s also such a sign of the times that your daughter has no idea what they are!

  4. Notmyyearoff says:

    There is one I pass on my way to work and I always stop to look at it. Lovely pic’

  5. That’s brilliant. To find one is great, but that many is a bonus!

  6. HELEN says:

    ahh, we used to spend many any evening huddled in a telephone box…they have great memories. Remember when they used to have phone books in there too….and we would have to actually physically look through pages & pages to find numbers & not just google it from our phone in the comfort of a coffee shop…….
    ahh those were the days….

    • ahh memories. Can you remember ringing the dial a music line. I wonder if that number still works. We worked out how to gt it free clicking the black pips for a while till BT figured this out.

      • HELEN says:

        we used to do that clicking too…I taught my friend how to do it as they had a lock on their phone…I got so good at it that I just used to dial peoples numbers that way…it was always a bonus when you got the right person!
        ahh good times…

      • ha ha – criminals on the blog! It was a method used by engineers to make calls so that the house owner was not charged (so I’m told). I didn’t know this back then, just tha it was a cool thing to do.

      • HELEN says:

        you learn something new every day…shame it’s of no use to us now!!

  7. I love Red Telephone Boxes so much. Brilliant photo 🙂

  8. Erica Price says:

    Love those phone boxes! Hate the newer ones.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

