Gluten Free, Dairy Free Sugar Free Coconut and Lemon Cake (with Streusel Topping) Recipe

This lemon and coconut cake with streusel topping is a great gluten free, sugar free, dairy free cake that is definitely not lacking in texture or taste.

A delicious moist cake filled with lemon curd and a coconut streusel, with even more streusel on top.  Using honey as a tasty alternative to sugar and giving the extra moisture needed for gluten free flour. A great cake to share anytime of the day!

Streusel:

  • 70g gluten free self raising flour
  • 70g honey
  • 3 tbls of vegetable or soya margarine
  • a large handful of sweetened flaked/dessicated coconut

Cake:

  • 315g  gluten free self raising flour
  • 200g honey
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 180g vegetable or soya margarine
  • 150ml soya milk (more if needed for a smooth batter)
  • juice of 2 lemons
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 – 2 tbls of lemon curd

Glaze:

  • 70g honey
  • 1 tbls lemon juice
  • 1 tbls water

Pre-heat the oven to 180*C/350*F.  Grease and flour a 9 inch cake tin with a loose bottom.  Set aside.

Make the streusel by mixing the gluten free flour and honey and melted butter with an electric whisk or food processor until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add the coconut and give it another blast.

Combine all the cake ingredients in a large bowl.  Beat well together adding as much milk as is needed to create a creamy, easy to stir batter.  Spread half of the batter into the prepared pan.  Sprinkle with 2/3 of the streusel.

Dot the lemon curd by 1/2 tsp all over the top of the streusel, but not too near the edges of the pan.  Spoon the remaining batter over top and level.  Sprinkle with the remaining third of the streusel.

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, or until a toothpick/skewer inserted in the centre of the cake comes out clean.  Allow to cool in the pan for 15 minutes before removing sides.

Combine the glaze ingredients and heat in a small pan or microwave for 30 seconds. Prick the cake with a fork and then drizzle the heated glaze over the warm cake.

This cake is best served warm and is lovely served with custard.

*Hop on over to HoniesKitchen in the Category Cloud to see more delicious recipes.

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in baking, Foodies100, Honey, Honie's Kitchen, lemon, Vegan Recipe, Vegetarian Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Gluten Free, Dairy Free Sugar Free Coconut and Lemon Cake (with Streusel Topping) Recipe

  1. Looks and sounds gorgeous. Now if I wanted to make it with normal flour, should I change anything? (I’m pinning this by the way)

  2. You might need slightly less milk – you could start with 100ml and add as needed. The gluten free will dry up the liquid more quickly in baking.

  3. Mariana says:

    This looks delicious!! I will definitely try to make this one day. (Probably with normal flour, as well.)

  4. Amanda says:

    This looks amazing and I can not wait to try it! Do you think rice milk will work as a substitute for soy milk?

    • I think so, Can’t see why not and it’s a good suggestion. I found it very difficult to find recipes that cater for food allergies when I looked – most still incuded things that shouldn’t have been there. This is a very versatile recipe and it was yummy!

  5. vestav says:

    can i use water instead of any kind of milk???

    • In short … I really don’t know. I’ve never tried it. But feel free to have a go and let me know if you think it works. I’m guessing the recipe alls for milk and that as a dairy free alternative, soya milk is good – so I’ve never tried water.

  6. Rebecca Ell says:

    Hello there! I’ve just made this recipe but put it into cupcake cups as I wanted to take them to work. However, after they’ve come out of the oven, I’ve pulled one or two apart and the body of the cake is full of large holes and is sticky and stodgy… It looks nothing like yours! What have I done wrong?!

    • This recipe is for a 9″ cake tin and you bake for 50 to 60 minutes, or until a toothpick/skewer inserted in the centre of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan for 15 minutes before removing sides.

      To bake cupcakes you would reduce the time. If you did already reduce the time, then I’m guessing it wasn’t long enough. If the tops of the cakes start to brown before the skewer comes out clean then add foil to the cover the cupcake tin and bake for a little longer until it does. This will stop them browning, but allow the cakes to completely cook through.

      • Rebecca Ell says:

        Thanks for this – the general concensus at work was that they were actually overcooked, as I’d waited for them to brown but the lack of sugar meant that they only browned when overdone. I did some for a little less time and they came out much nicer! You live you learn!

      • Glad they came out better 2nd time. I usually bake cupcakes for 20 mins and muffins for 25-30 mins, but gluten free flour reacts differently to wheat flour and as you’ve found may take a practice attempt.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

