Plum Oaty Chomps in the HonieHouse (Pumpkin Pie & Strawberry Cheescake)

I’m delighted to have Plum Oaty Chomps in the HonieHouse.  We are testing Pumpkin Pie and Strawberry Cheescake Oaty Chomps and they are going to be additions to K’Boo’s lunch box.

Why did I agree to test them out?

I’m not a huge fan of cereal bars, mainly because despite using ‘cereal’ in the title they are jam packed with added sugar and  not really ideal for any child’s lunch box if you are planning on giving them something healthy as well as sticking to the school’s initiative of not including sugary snacks or chocolate.

Plum Oaty Chomps are not the same as the regular cereal bars you get on the supermarket shelf  and in any case, you are more likely to find them in the Baby aisle.

You get five bars (100g each) in a box (individually wrapped) containing organic oats and quinoa and are ‘naturally sweetened’ with raisins and pumpkin in one variety and with raisins and strawberry in the other.

In the Pumpkin Pie variety you WILL get:

  • Organic Oats
  • Organic Raisins
  • Organic Sunflower Oil
  • Organic Pumpkin Puree
  • Organic Quinoa Flour
  • Organic Cinnamon
  • Organic Nutmeg
In the Strawberry Cheesecake variety you WILL get:
  • Organic Raisins
  • Organic Wholegrain Oats
  • Organic Sunflower Oil
  • Organic Strawberry Juice Concentrate
  • Organic Quinoa Flour

You will NOT get:

  • Added salt or refined sugar
  • Hydrogenatd fats
  • Artificial flaovours
  • Artificial colours
  • Preservatives
  • Added egg
  • Added dairy

Guilt free, nutritious snacks for your child’s lunchbox – yay!

These Oaty Chomp bars are suitable for 12+ months and ideal for Pre-school and School Lunchboxes too. I have to admit they were so tasty, I’d buy them for my lunch-time fix.

I’m a huge fan of Quinoa. It is a super food with an extremely high protein content (that’s right – it’s not a carbohydrate and so is suitable for low carb diets). It has twice the protein of rice, but the very best bit is that it is also a ‘complete protein‘, that is it contains all 9 essential amino acids and is especially well endowed with the amino acid lysine, which is essential for tissue growth and repair.

Other health building nutrients it contains are manganese, magnesium, folate, phosphorus and riboflavin (vitamin B2) – making it especially valuable to those who suffer from migraine headaches, diabetes type 2 and atherosclerosis (cardiovascular problems). It is also shown to reduce anxiety (in the way it affects serotonin) and is a great source of energy.

Eating whole grains like Quinoa and fish has been significantly linked to reducing wheezing in asthma and a regular diet of both of these foods was shown to reduce the probability of having asthma.

Given that both cardiovascular problems and asthma are evident in my family, I started eating Quinoa a long time ago and it’s really easy to introduce into your diet and get the kids eating it too. If you are struggling, then a handy tip is to slip it into slow-cooker recipes, where it is undetected by the wee ones.

I’m also a huge fan of oats and always try to find wholegrain or organic oats when I’m shopping (which is not at all difficult if you pass the sugary cereals). There are lots of cereals that contain oats but are shockingly highly priced for the mention of it –  be aware that they also contain lots of sugar and are not nearly as good for you as making up a bowl of porridge and adding your own fruit, honey and even cinnamon or nutmeg for a comfortingly spicy taste.

Oats are high in soluble and insoluble fibre. One of the insoluble fibres (beta glucans) reduces the absorption of cholesterol in the bloodstream significantly.

Oats and grains also contain antioxidants that form vitamin E and tocopherols that reduce free radical damage and reduce your LDL cholesterol – so reduce your chances of getting heart disease! Eating oats and other whole grains is good for a healthy heart and reducing hypertension. Vitamin E, is very good for the hair and nails.

Oats contain essential vitamins such as thiamin, folic acid, biotin and minerals such as zinc, selenium, copper, iron, manganese and magnesium.

Avoiding childhood obesity is something we should all take very seriously. So along with encouraging activities that help them feel fit and healthy, a healthy diet is also important. Oats  help to delay sugar absorption in our bodies (thats those beta glucans again) and this allows us have more energy. The dietary fibre oats contain make you feel fuller faster and for longer. So eating oats for breakfast and snacks enables them to play and challenge themselves for much longer and not feel tempted to snack on sugary foods.

So what did we really think of them?

The Oaty chomps managed to last out the whole week with K’Boo having one a day, H’Boo discovering them in the cupboard and of course I had to try one of each myself.

Well, aside from the fact that they are filled with ingredients that are extremely good for you and help you give your children a healthy balance diet, these Oaty Chomps are a handy size and extremely tasty.

I would like to see Plum, promote these tasty snacks to Pre-school children as well as promoting them as a Stage 4 food in Weaning (12+ months). I would definitely buy them and recommend them to other Parents.

They were a huge hit- HonieLikes!

*Find Oaty Chomps in the Baby Aisle of Ocado, Sainsburys and Boots and soon all good leading supermarkets.  Check out their other stages of food when weaning babies and toddlers and other products in the Stage 4 range (12+ months).

This is a sponsored post in that I received 1 box of each variety mentioned to review. I have used my own pictures to review these products and all of the content is in my own words, knowledge or further research.
About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in HonieLikes, Parenting, Pre-school, Reviews, Toddlers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Plum Oaty Chomps in the HonieHouse (Pumpkin Pie & Strawberry Cheescake)

  1. MummyRated says:

    These look lovely, I’m going on the hunt for some this week! Your extra info has also inspired me to try quinoa and home made muesili too – thank you for a great post 🙂

    • MummyRated says:

      That was meant to say porridge … but maybe I’ll splash out and try both!!!

      • Well worth splashing out on – it’s not often you can say that you give your kids snacks that are good for them :o) Check the labels on the porridge oats you buy. Sometimes the more ‘popular’ brands are slightly higher in salt/sodium. I have found that the supermarket brands ‘can’ have less. Ocado/Waitrose have only trace salt – then again, I found a bag in Aldi today that did too!

    • Thanks for liking my post, it’s really appreciated! I only ever review the stuff I would really use and believe to be of benefit to my family. Quinoa was a great discovery for me a few years ago and oats are something I’m glad my parents encouraged us to like as children. When K’Boo was a baby I loved the Plum products, they are ‘really’ very good ingredients and yummy too!

  2. actuallymummy says:

    OH I wish they had made Plum Baby like that when mine were tiny – they were good, but not that good!

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

