In Memory of PC Nicola Hughes and PC Fiona Bone – “The Final Inspection”

My friend sent me this, there isn’t much more to say xx

“The Final Inspection”

The Policewoman stood and faced her God,

Which must always come to pass.

She hoped her shoes were shining.

Just as brightly as her brass.

“Step forward now, policewoman.

How shall I deal with you?

Have you always turned the other cheek?

To My church have you been true?”

The policewoman squared her shoulders and said,

“No, Lord, I guess I ain’t,

Because those of us who carry badges

can’t always be a saint.

I’ve had to work most Sundays,

and at times my talk was rough,

and sometimes I’ve been violent,

Because the streets are awfully tough.

But I never took a penny,

That wasn’t mine to keep….

Though I worked a lot of overtime

When the bills got just too steep.

And I never passed a cry for help,

Though at times I shook with fear.

And sometimes, God forgive me,

I’ve wept unwomanly tears.

I know I don’t deserve a place

Among the people here.

They never wanted me around

Except to calm their fear.

If you’ve a place for me here,

Lord, It needn’t be so grand.

I never expected or had too much,

But if you don’t…..I’ll understand.

There was silence all around the throne

Where the saints had often trod.

As the policewoman waited quietly,

For the judgment of her God.

“Step forward now, policewoman,

You’ve borne your burdens well.

Come walk a beat on Heaven’s streets,

You’ve done your time in hell.”

Author Unknown

Rest In Peace Nicola and Fiona xxxx

Flowers, cards, and messages of condolence were left by members of the local community, friends and family, yesterday (19/9/12) at the scene of the killing of PC Nicola Hughes and PC Fiona Bone. The two officers were killed as they responded to a routine incident at Abbey Gardens in Hattersley, Tameside, shortly before 11am on 18 September.

Greater Manchester Police has been overwhelmed with messages of support and condolence from people across the region, the country and the world.

The operation to collect evidence at the scene of the killings is still ongoing and the Force is grateful for the huge level of support from the local community while this operation continues.

A book of condolence is available online atwww.gmp.police.uk for anyone who wishes to leave messages for the two officers.

Mine:

We sleep at night knowing that there are brave men and women who are keeping law and order and help to keep our families safe.
That someone would take away the life of another who puts theirs on the line, is unthinkable.
The bravery of these two women will not go un-noticed, will not be forgotten.
The support to our Police Force and those who dedicate their lives to keeping ours safe is strong and will remain strong.
We are grateful for the men and women who like Nicola and Fiona want the world to be a better place.
May they rest in peace and may their families know that we are proud of them and will continue to support the ideals that their Daughter’s stood for.

May they sleep tonight knowing justice will be done.

RIP beautiful, brave women xXx

You can read more information and support at …

https://www.facebook.com/GtrManchesterPolice

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Lancashire and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

