Carrot Cake Muffins (deliciously moist and with a luxury cream cheese topping)

Carrot Cake Muffins with Luxury Cream Cheese FrostingThis deliciously moist carrot cake recipe is finished of with a luxury cream cheese topping and is definitely one for a ‘cheat’ day if you are watching the calories. Although it’s perfect for the kids with the cream cheese topping and 1 of their five-a-day with the volume of grated carrot hidden inside. Get the kids to help you as this is a fairly easy recipe and there is a lot they can do (and learn) from this recipe.

I use sunflower or grapeseed oil instead of butter which makes mixing easier and more importantly keeps the cakes deliciously moist for a few days.

There is less flour in a carrot cake recipe than most other cake recipes and so the carbohydrate content from flour is less and made up instead of the carbohydrates from the carrots – much healthier!

I also use more grated carrot than most recipes as it helps with the moisture and well, it’s even healthier!

Makes 12 deep muffins or 24 cupcakes:

  • 175g / 6 oz / 1 cup soft brown sugar
  • 175ml / 6 fl oz sunflower oil (or grapeseed oil)
  • 3 large free-range eggs
  • 150g / 5 oz / 1 1/4 cups of plain flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 240g / 8 1/2 oz / 1 3/4 cups grated carrot
  • 1 tsp of orange essence / 1 tbsp of orange juice
  • Luxury Cream Cheese Frosting
  • Sprinkles to decorate

Preheat the oven to 180 deg C / 350 deg F / Gas Mark 4.

Line a 12 hole deep muffin pan with muffin paper cases.

In a large bowl, mix the sugar and the oil using a spatula. Add the eggs one at a time and mix well.

Sift the dry ingredients and add to the mix and beat together until combined.

Add the grated carrots to the batter and mix well.

Add 1 scoop (45ml / 3 tbsp) of mix to each of the muffin cases and bake in the oven for 20 mins. Be careful to watch near to the end as they can burn. Test with a skewer and if still wet inside, then cover with greaseproof paper and cook for a little longer.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely before adding the frosting.

Luxury Cream Cheese FrostingYou can make up the Luxury Cream Cheese Frosting while they cool. Add sprinkles if you wish.

Enjoy!

About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in baking, cooking with kids, Foodies100, Honie's Kitchen, Vegetarian Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Carrot Cake Muffins (deliciously moist and with a luxury cream cheese topping)

  1. Countryidyll says:

    Oh yum, these sound so delicious I really am tempted to try them, although I would have to eat them all myself as I have nobody at home to share them with. Would they freeze? If so, I will definitely bake some, then I could have one every now and again rather than binging on them! lol!

  2. mydearbakes says:

    Wow, loved your bakes! You are so talented!

  3. I made them and they were great, though I dont think I stirred the bicarb in enough. This often happens in my baking, you occasioanly get a really casutic bite. Just re read and forgot to put orange juice in. They were well recieved though! Thanks for posting 🙂

    • Thanks for reading and choosing my recipe. I add my bicarbonate’ to the flour before sifting. This way it is evenly spaced out in the mix. Glad you enjoyed the recipe. You can add a good orange essence instead of orange juice. Always very well received in my house too (especially with the luxury cream cheese frosting -my favourite!).

  4. Pingback: Gorgeous Fresh Vegetables from Kent Veg Box | Kent Foodies

  5. Pingback: Gorgeous Fresh Vegetables from Kent Veg Box | Rachel Birchley

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

