Fruit Loaf (made in the bread maker)

The smell of bread baking in the kitchen is so memorable, you want to repeat this every day. The smell of fruit loaf baking in your kitchen is like Easter, Christmas and visits to Grannie’s house all rolled into one. Using your bread maker, makes it all the more easy.

So, following on from my last post about baking your own bread and the benefits (not to mention the scary ingredients in shop-bought bread). Here’s a recipe for an easy peasy, tasty fruit loaf.

Fruit LoafFruit Loaf

Ingredients

Loaf

  • 270 ml water
  • 6 teaspoons butter or 6 teaspoons oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 6 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 450 g white bread flour (3 cups)
  • 6 teaspoons powdered milk
  • 3 teaspoons ground mixed spice
  • 2 teaspoons yeast
  • 1/2 cup mixed dried fruit (or currants, sultanas if you choose)

Gelatine Glaze

  • 3 tablespoons water (optional)
  • 6 teaspoons sugar (optional)
  • 3 teaspoons gelatin (optional)

Directions:

  1. Put water (and oil if using) into the pan first.
  2. Put the flour in gently, making sure it covers the liquid and no liquid is exposed.
  3. Put sugar, salt, spice into 3 corners of the pan (put butter in 4th corner if using).
  4. Put the bread maker on either a medium loaf or 2lb+ size setting, medium crust and press start.
  5. If you have a nuts dispenser place the fruit in there (otherwise add the fruit when the 2nd knead has 8 minutes to go). My bread maker beeps to tell me this.
  6. If using the glaze, combine glaze ingredients in a small saucepan over a heat until the sugar and gelatine has dissolved.
  7. Use the pause function if you have one, at fifteen minutes into the baking cycle, brush glaze over loaf.
  8. Set the machine to settings for a medium loaf (2lb+) and press start.
  9. When finished remove from the pan and allow to cool slightly, before slicing.
About HonieMummy (HonieBuk)

Mum of two girls (16 & 9) and step-Mum to one boy (15). All of whom are bright, fun-loving, creative and musical and make me proud and despite his disability (CP) my step-son and family face challenges with a smile and the will to succeed. Love to travel (mainly US/Canada/Scotland), passionate about photography, music is a must, always in HoniesKitchen, love a bit of crafting and I'm learning to knit (maybe even crochet). I'm a networking junkie and of course there has to be time (quality time) with my amazing family! I like to Blog infrequently whenever it takes my fancy and I don't mind sharing my ups and downs, advice and querky ideas with you all. I will mostly post recipes and photos of food, family and travel. I love to review products that my family and me would use - I kinda consider it my 'duty' to let you all know if something is as good as it says on the tin and a 'must buy' product, that all families should know about. Find these in HonieLikes. If you like what you see, please tell me - I work hard at these things :o)
This entry was posted in Foodies100, Honie's Kitchen, Vegetarian Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fruit Loaf (made in the bread maker)

  1. Pingback: Making your own Bread …. includes recipe (and the benefits of ‘not buying’ shop bought bread) | HonieMummy Blog

I love comments and appreciate your feedback - share the love here!

